Trial Lawyers
Are The Difference

Our attorneys have been assisting the Clark County
community for over 35 years.

Request free consultation

What To Do After a Work Accident in Las Vegas

Request free consultation
Posted By DAM Firm | May 3 2023 | Workers' Compensation

Individuals who sustain on-the-job injuries would likely be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, regardless of which party was responsible for the injury. However, in order to recover compensation, there are various steps that workplace injury victims need to take to ensure the viability of their claim. Here, we want to outline what to do after sustaining an on-the-job injury in Las Vegas.

What To Do After a Work Accident in Las Vegas

Seeking Medical Care No Matter What

After a work injury occurs, the priority is for the injury victim to seek medical assistance. Sometimes, individuals do not realize right away that they have been injured as a result of workplace activities. There are times when injuries lead to delayed symptoms. However, as soon as a person realizes they may have sustained A workplace injury or illness, they need to go to the doctor and make it known that the workplace is the likely cause.

Seeking medical care creates a viable claim. Without medical treatment, a work injury claim will most certainly be denied or, at the very least, more closely scrutinized.

When possible, work injury victims should seek medical care as soon as an injury occurs, but they should also not hesitate to go to the doctor even if significant time has elapsed from the incident to when the symptoms begin.

Deadline for Reporting the Injury to Your Employer

For work injury claims, there are typically two deadlines that individuals need to be aware of in the state of Nevada. First, workers’ compensation law requires that an injury or illness be reported to an employer within seven days of it occurring or from the date of diagnosis. After the initial reporting period, the work injury claim must officially be made no later than 90 days after the injury occurs.

Deadlines are different for third-party personal injury lawsuits that arise as a result of a workplace incident. There are various reasons why an individual may need to file a personal injury lawsuit, even though this is not always possible for all types of work injuries. If a third-party personal injury lawsuit is a possibility, it must be filed within two years from the date the injury occurs, per the Nevada personal injury statute of limitations.

Speaking to an Attorney

It may not be your first instinct to contact an attorney after sustaining a work injury in Las Vegas. However, a skilled Las Vegas work injury lawyer can handle every aspect of the claim on your behalf. There are certainly times when employers or insurance carriers push back from having to pay fair compensation, and they may even deny a claim. When this happens, having a lawyer by your side will be invaluable. An attorney can investigate every aspect of how the work injury occurred, and they can handle all of the appeals processes on your behalf.

Most importantly, when you have a lawyer by your side, you will have an advocate willing to step in and handle every aspect for you. This will bring you peace of mind as you work to recover from your injuries and return to the workplace.

Free Consultation

  • *required fields