- Practice Areas
Our attorneys have been assisting the Orange County and Southern California communities for over 40 years.
Safety is the number one priority for any bicyclist in and around Orange County. Or at least it should be. Unfortunately, bicyclists are much more likely to sustain severe injuries when they are involved in vehicle accidents. Whether you are a seasoned bicyclist or new to the bicycling scene, it is crucial to review some important safety tips so you can take and complete each trip safely.
It is important for all bicyclists to know the laws related to riding on and around California roadways. If a bicyclist is moving as fast as the surrounding traffic, they are allowed to ride wherever they want. If they are moving slower than the surrounding traffic, they can take the entire lane if the lane is not wide enough for a bike and a vehicle to share side-by-side.
Bicyclists should ride as close to the right-hand side of the road as possible except when passing, prepping for a left turn, and avoiding hazards. If there is a bicycle lane present, bicyclists should use it.
Bicycles are considered vehicles, and they must abide by the same rules of the roadway as motor vehicles, including obeying traffic signals and signs and yielding the right of way to pedestrians.
Bicyclists should always wear the appropriate gear. This is especially important for those who ride in the early morning hours before the sun comes up and those who ride as the sun is going down and at night. This should include reflective or brightly colored clothing that is visible to other motorists.
California law requires all bicyclists to use reflectors and lights when riding at night or when it is dark out. This includes a lamp on the front that emits a white light visible from a distance of 300 feet. A red reflector or red light should be on the back of the bike and visible from a distance of 500 feet.
There should be a yellow or white reflector on each pedal or on the cyclist’s shoes or ankle, and this should be visible from a distance of 200 feet. A white or yellow light should be on the front wheel, and a white or red reflector should be on the back wheel.
Bicyclists should always wear a helmet when riding. Currently, the law in California only requires those under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when riding a bike, but everyone will benefit from a properly fitted helmet approved by the DOT.
If you or someone you care about has been injured in a bike accident, you need to reach out to an Orange County bicycle injury attorney as soon as possible. A lawyer can look into the claim and ensure that liability is properly assigned. The goal is to ensure that bike crash victims recover complete compensation for their losses, which includes coverage of medical bills, lost wages, property damage losses, and pain and suffering losses.